Education · Special Education

Happy Tuesday: I Have the Best Team

Happy Tuesday JPEG

Last week I posted about my fabulous sister (in truth, I have two, but more about that another time).

This week, I’m raving about my learning support team.  They are, by far, the best team.  Don’t get me wrong:  I love my grade level team, too.  But today is proof of why I’m Team Learning Support.

Our third grade LS teacher unexpectedly left on maternity leave a bit early, before she was able to complete her May and June IEPs.  When I got the news, I was, of course, initially excited for her (anytime someone is having a baby, I’m excited!).

Then it hit me:  She’s the third grade learning support teacher.  I’m the fourth grade learning support teacher.  Those IEPs are my responsibility, because those students are coming to me next year.  I felt a pit in my stomach.  I have my own caseload to handle, and now an additional ten IEPs or so?  Ugh!

Happily for me, though, I work with the best team.  After arriving at school this morning, our fifth grade LS teacher emailed the entire third grade team, our director of special ed., our principal and our assistant principal, letting them know we were developing a “plan of action.”  Shortly after that, the second grade LS teacher created a Google spreadsheet of the caseload, and we divided the IEPs among the three of us.  Not only that, but as it turns out, they both have more IEPs left this year than I do, and they STILL chose to take on more.

I was in such a panic at first that my head was spinning, but thanks to these two wonderful colleagues, I was soon calm and able to focus on the task at hand.  Now that I have a plan of action, I’m able to reflect and appreciate how fortunate I am to work with the best team.

team

By the way, she had a healthy baby girl. 🙂

Amy Marie sig 2

2 thoughts on “Happy Tuesday: I Have the Best Team

Leave a Reply

