Education · General · Organization · Pinterest · Special Education · Teaching Resources · TpT

Happy Tuesday: Or should I say, “Happy TO-DO-sday”?

Happy Tuesday JPEG

I have a confession to make:  I am a list-maker.  I inherited the affliction from my dad.  He has a much more severe form than I do.  Not only does he write lists, he KEEPS them.  For years.  Stores them away.  For future reference, I suppose.

I am able to get rid of my lists.  But I get the most satisfying feeling of being able to check things off my list.  Yes, I am one of THOSE people who writes things on her list just to be able to check it off.

When my daughters were born, in those first few weeks, I wrote lists of everything they did.  (In my defense, when you give birth to twins, life can easily spin out of control.  So I needed LISTS to keep from losing my mind – and my control).  So I listed what time they ate, what time they slept, what time they took a bath…  You get the idea.  But there’s no reason to limit my lists to my babies!  I kept lists of what I needed to do between dawn and dusk.  Like take a shower.  That was the most rewarding check of the day.

But as I get older, I’m finding that my lists are less about gratification and more about a lack of memory.  My now-teenage-daughters like to remind me how often I forget things.  I know this already.  I practically self-diagnosed early-onset Alzheimer’s after reading Still Alice last year.

When I got my iPhone, I fell in love with the Reminders app.  It was made for me.  I use it every day.  I actually justified spending $100 on the iPhone 4 just for the Reminders app after I forgot to pick my daughter up from school once.  I have yet to forget since, I’m happy to tell you.

reminders

 

I also discovered an app called Simplist.  I love the name.  According to Simplistapp.com, this app lets me “create checklists, grocery lists, shopping lists, task and to-do lists.”  So you see, how could I not use it?  I even keep my husband’s bucket list on it!  (Mine is on Pinterest, of course).

simplist

 

screenshot0

 

 

I even love its app logo. So simple.

I also have a separate grocery shopping list app called ShopShop.  It even lets me cross out items on my list before I delete them.  So satisfying!

shopshop

 

Keeping track of my school workload is a little more complex.  I need a little more space than my iPhone will allow, so I keep a Google Doc To-Do list, of course.  But the one thing that has kept me in compliance is my IEP Sections Case Manager Checklist.  You didn’t actually think I could get through an IEP without a LIST, did you?

So, yes, I am a bit obsessed with keeping lists.  But I’m not really looking to get rid of this addiction to lists.  Lists keep me organized.  And when I’m organized, I’m happy.

Happy?  Check.

Amy Marie sig 2

One thought on “Happy Tuesday: Or should I say, “Happy TO-DO-sday”?

Leave a Reply

