Education · Humor · Special Education · Teaching Resources

Sunday Inspirations: Year-End Fun

Year End Fun

 

Our schedule has been disrupted the last few weeks due to end-of-year activities, like our school meetings (each grade “hosts” a school assembly of sorts), school meeting practice, school meeting poster preparation (see a theme here?), Color Day (aka Field Day, which was postponed twice because of inclement weather), swimming lessons (yes, our district provides this during our school day… don’t get me started), early dismissals, MAP testing, benchmarking, and two field trips, not to mention end-of-year parties and a “Meet the Teacher” event. The one thing my students need but don’t get at the end of the school year is consistency.

I decided that if you can’t beat ‘em, JOIN ‘em! Regular education teachers shouldn’t have all the fun! (Before I get anyone’s ire up, this is said tongue-in-cheek. Sort of.)

RaffleTicket

 

Although we already had our 100 Book Challenge Party in May, I held off drawing names for our Genre Ticket prizes until last week. I’m so glad I did! What a fun way to wrap up the school year! Homeroom teachers get to have End of Year parties with goodies and fun activities. My classroom is pretty quiet during those times (a sound I truly appreciate), but it’s a bittersweet feeling.

I asked my team to send my students to me for one last hoorah on Friday. I had a ton of genre tickets in a big bin, and I gave each of my students a chance to choose a ticket. One student asked if he could use my “nose picker” to choose tickets. Initially confused, I soon realized he was teasing me: he was referring to my pointer I got through Scholastic Book Fairs!

So now all that aggravation over our spring schedule can be long forgotten, with pleasant memories of our year-end fun to take its place.

nose picker

 

It does sort of look perfect for nose picking if you’re a ten year old boy, doesn’t it?

20130618-214451.jpg

Leave a Reply

