Blogging · Education · Humor · Instagram · Pinterest · Teaching Resources

Sunday Inspirations: Leave Me Alone, I’m Pinning! Part 2

Sunday Inspirations: Leave Me Alone, I'm Pinning! (Part 2) | The Unique Classroom Blog

Well, if we’re going to be technical, now I’m posting.  And not to my blog.  I need a sponsor, because I need help.

instagram

Do you know why I haven’t posted on this blog in a while?  It’s because I’m busy.  Yes, Virginia, there is a social media site that rivals the time-consuming features of Pinterest.  It’s called Instagram.  And if you’re a teacher and you’re on Instagram, you’re bound to be on it A LOT.  Well, I am, anyway, and it seems that I’m not the only one.

I have made a ton of connections with other amazing teachers through IG (yeah, that’s what the really cool people call it, and I really want to be one of them).

#TeachersFollowTeachers on Instagram.  I wake up and the first thing I do is check my phone for my IG notifications.

IG notifications

I started getting a sharp pain in my thumbs and up my right arm.  I think I’m getting carpal tunnel syndrome from using my phone.  You think I’m kidding.

When I’m on IG, I feel a little like I’m on a matchmaking site.  I see people’s profiles, and think, Is this person someone who gets me?  For starters, Stacia and Amanda at Collaboration Cuties, Serena, a New Zealander, at Magic Mistakes and Mayhem, Gabrielle at Teaching Special Thinkers, Jameson at Lessons with Coffee, and SO MANY others.  I have gotten such great ideas from these wonderfully talented educators, and I am constantly in awe of how dedicated they are.  Everyone is always posting their clean #b2s13 classroom set ups and their #MondayMadeIt.  I’m lucky if I clean my kitchen and make it to the grocery store to pick up milk and paper towels that we’ve been out of since Friday.

I’ve posted 142 photos since June.  Not all of them are teaching-related.  To tell the truth, only a small fraction of them are teaching related.  But that’s okay, because I’m making connections, see?

For instance, 329 posts were made with the hashtag #showmeyourshoes.  Molly at @luckytobeinfirst posted it on her profile, and lots of teachers did, so I did, too.

my skechers

For the record, I am not sitting around posting photos of my feet all day (I only did it twice).  I have been rather busy this summer doing lots of things.

Mom things, like college dorm room shopping for both of my daughters who graduated high school in June.  FYI, Bed, Bath + Beyond is for college freshmen what Toys R Us is for kindergarteners.

college dorm shopping starts and ends here

Teacher things, like completing my last two grad classes, which entailed a lot of paper-writing and book-reading, both of which I actually like.  But mostly when I get to decide what to write and read.

grad classes

summer reading

And don’t forget Professional Development (as if the grad classes weren’t enough).

professional development

Blogger things, like updating my Facebook Page and participating in a Back to School Blogger Exchange hosted by Adventures of Ms. Smith and Covered in Glitter and Glue.  I was partnered up with the gals at Collaboration Cuties, Stacia and Amanda, and had a lot of fun (and just a wee bit of fretfulness) choosing just the right things to add to my package.  They assured me that they liked what I picked out for them.  See what I mean about Teacher Instagrammers “getting” me?

my facebook page

The Blogger Exchange was a lot of fun.  I generally don’t order things online, so I’m not used to getting packages in the mail.  I thought at first that the box was for my daughters.  Nope!  It was like Christmas in July, except it was August!

Blogger Exchange Round

Blogger Exchange gifts

Crafty things, like running a Fabric Craft Camp, Arts-n-Crafts Camp, and a Photo Editing Camp for three weeks.

fabric craft camp

arts n crafts camp

photo editing camp

Family things, like continuing a tradition my sisters and I have of getting together every summer with our kids.  We’re lucky that we all work in the education field and live close by.

family traditions

More mom things, like taking my daughter on a three-hour “dry run” down the shore before her solo trip, so she was comfortable with the route.  Only when we were stuck in traffic on the way home did either of us notice the gas gauge.

running on empty

It basically sums up my summer: me running on empty!

So while Instagram can be blamed for taking up some of my time, I have been busy with a lot more than just posting photos of my feet.  Like a doctor’s visit to see what this pain in my thumbs is all about.

Leave a Reply

