Education · General · Special Education

Hoo-hoo-hoo-hoo! (It’s A Tigger Thing)

The Unique Classroom Blog
The Unique Classroom Blog | Hoo-hoo-hoo-hoo!

I am thankful.  I realize this is not yet the season for people to be listing their Top Ten Reasons to Be Thankful, but I can’t help it; it’s just who I am.

I continually reflect on the things I have, and am reminded that many people are not so fortunate.  It’s so easy to get caught up in the Keeping Up with the Joneses mentality, but I try not to let it cloud my judgment.

Some of us have a “Tigger” attitude (That’s what Tiggers do best! Hoo-hoo-hoo-hoo! Come on, try it! It makes ya feel just grrreat!”), and some go through life as Eeyores, (“Good afternoon, Piglet.  If it is a good afternoon, which I doubt.”).

Our personal experiences influence how we perceive life and how it treats us.

Whether it’s a choice or not, I feel grateful for what I have.  Because I realize it could change in a heartbeat.

Being a teacher was an easy career choice, but it is a difficult job.  Being a special education teacher is very challenging.  There is so much about my job that causes me to question myself.  From things like paperwork and scheduling (you’ve heard me rant about that), to data collection and finding time to collaborate with regular education teachers, there’s no doubt that the life of a special education teacher is tough.

Our district has been going through a lot of changes, with a new structure to our caseloads, and, more recently, new administration.  There are going to be a lot of changes coming, I’m sure, and not all of them will be well-received.  But I am lucky to have a supportive husband who lets me go on and on at the dinner table about my day.  I am also very lucky to have a supportive Learning Support team, who understands where I’m coming from and can talk me off the ledge when I need it, and a supportive grade level team, who respects the work I do each day with the students we share.

Did I mention how I am surrounding by supportive people?

But with changes looming, it’s easy to fall into the trap of negative thinking.  So I’ve decided that I can’t hold on to the past.  Change can be a good thing.  It could help me grow as a teacher.  And isn’t that what I set out to do when I decided to become one?

TTFN! Ta-ta for now!

Leave a Reply

