Blogging · Education

Sunshine Blogger Award

Sunshine

I was doing some MAJOR spring cleaning today, but not the kind where my house actually gets cleaned.  I was cleaning out my email inbox.  See, if I can’t use my phone to accomplish a task, the task gets put off for another time.  This is because I am a lifetime member of Procrastinator’s Anonymous.

So here I am, weeding through the many emails I should have responded to much sooner, and came across Amy Labrasciano’s email about nominating me for the Sunshine Blogger Award!  Honestly, I don’t feel deserving of it, simply because my procrastination affects how often I post on my blog!  But since I found Amy on Instagram, where I post quite often, I feel a bit better about this.

I have a confession to make: I stopped using Facebook.  Like many people, I joined to make connections with people who have touched my life, both presently and in my past.  However, over time, Facebook changed.  Or maybe my expectations for it changed.  Either way, it became a less positive place to visit.  I began to see more and more personal rants, and I had had enough.

That’s where Instagram comes in.  When I joined, I had no idea how the community of teachers, moms, and bloggers would influence me, nor the magnitude of the positive connections I’ve made.  It’s a place I enjoy visiting regularly, because of the people who support each other and build each other up.  That’s where I see this award coming from.

Being nominated for the Sunshine Blogger Award requires a few tasks to complete.  (Ironic, isn’t it?)

Here are the rules:

1. Post 11 random facts about yourself.

2. Answer the 11 questions posted by the blogger who nominated you.

3. Nominate 11 bloggers you think bring sunshine to the world.

4. Post 11 questions for nominees to answer.

 

11 Random Facts (if you follow me on Instagram, this info is old news!)

1)      I still live in the state in which I was born (PA).

2)      I married my soul mate, who is just as much a Disney World fanatic as me.

3)      I was married at 22, and had my twin girls at 24.

4)      We are now empty nesters.

5)      Homemade chocolate chip cookies and Hershey’s Kisses are my absolute favorite foods.

6)      I have visited 10 states.

7)      I visited Canada and Mexico.  I was in Canada for only a few hours to see Niagara Falls, and Mexico for less than an hour when I realized I don’t speak or read Spanish.

8)      I listen to a variety of music genres, but don’t like heavy metal or rap.

9)      I enjoy staying down the shore for vacation but I’m not a big fan of the beach, and rarely go in the water.

10)        I appreciate spending time by myself.

11)        I originally wanted to be an art teacher.

 

11 Questions from Amy:

1)      If you could visit any place in the world, where would you go?

Hawaii!

2)      What is your absolute favorite book (that I should read next)?

I can’t answer this, because I have so many favorites. But if I absolutely had to choose, I guess I’d say The Giving Tree.

3)      Why did you start blogging?

I wanted to make connections with other teachers, specifically learning support teachers. When I found that there weren’t many blogging, I decided I would.

4)      What is your favorite part about blogging?

I really appreciate the connections I’ve made with other teachers, regardless of specialty or grade level. We all have so much in common, and I love how supportive we are with each other.

5)      What advice do you have for new bloggers?

Don’t procrastinate!  Set a schedule, and stick to it.

6)      Do you hate packing your lunch as much as I do?

Yep.  I don’t like the time it takes, but then I always appreciate opening up my lunch box at school and finding healthy food.

7)      What is your favorite part about working with kids?

Their innocence and innate goodness (even the stinkers!).

8)      What is your favorite weekend activity?

I always enjoy spending time with my husband, regardless of what we do together.

9)      Which social media site is your favorite?

No hesitation: Instagram!

10)        What is one thing about you that people are surprised by?

I suppose people are surprised that I am an empty nester already.

11)        If you could go back in time, would you?

No, I don’t think so.  I am enjoying the present too much!

 

I’m cheating a bit here, because, since I’m typically late on the bandwagon with these things, I’m not sure who’s already been nominated:

11 Questions for my nominees:

1)      If you were to choose a different profession, what would it be?

2)      What superhero power would you like to have?

3)      What would you do if you won the lottery?

4)      What talents do you have?

5)      Do you enjoy watching (or playing) sports?

6)      What is one accomplishment you are most proud of?

7)      Are you good at telling jokes?

8)      What is your favorite weekend activity?

9)      Which social media site is your favorite?

10)        Is the glass half empty or half full?

11)        Always early or perpetually late?

 

TashaButtonnutty

happy button

c&c header

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now to get through the 469 posts of the blogs I’m following on Bloglovin’!

Amy Marie

Leave a Reply

